Skip to Content

Publishing Scheduler FAQ

What is the Publishing Scheduler?

The Publishing Scheduler empowers creators to schedule new story parts to be published at a future date or time. With this feature, you can conveniently keep your stories going for your readers even when you hit pause. Whether you’re taking a well-deserved writing break, on vacation, or dealing with all things life, schedule the next few parts of your story to keep your readers immersed in the worlds they love.

How does the Publishing Scheduler work?

Web

Publishing one story part at a time:

  1. Tap on the “Write” button in the upper right corner
  2. Navigate to the story part you'd like to publish
  3. Tap on Publish in the upper right-hand corner
  4. A pop-up will appear where you’ll have the option to tap either “Publish now” or tap “Schedule to publish later”.
  5. If you choose “Schedule to publish later,” you’ll be prompted to select a date and time for when you would like to publish your story part.
  6. Once you’ve set your  schedule, click the checkbox confirming that you understand that your story will be published automatically to your readers at the selected time.
  7. Tap “Schedule”, and a pop-up will confirm that your story has been scheduled.


How do I access the Publishing Scheduler? 

When you draft a new story part on desktop web and click the Publish button, you’ll now see two options: “Publish Now”or “Schedule to publish later”. Choose “Schedule to publish later” and follow the prompts to select the time and date you’d like to publish your story part.

 

Can I use this feature on the Wattpad app and on the web?

Currently, the Publishing Scheduler is only available on the web. However, you can view your publishing schedule on the Wattpad app by going into “My Stories”. 

 

Is there a limit to how many story parts I can schedule at once?

There’s no limit to the number of parts you can schedule at the same time.

Will I be able to see how many parts I’ve scheduled?

Yes,  if you have scheduled parts, you can view them on the “My Stories” screen for each of your stories.  

This view is only for you. Your readers cannot see your scheduled parts or how many parts are scheduled for your story.


How far in advance can I schedule my parts?

You can schedule parts up to one (1) year in advance.

 

Can I edit the schedule?

Yes. Once you’ve scheduled your story part(s) – and prior to the part(s) going live – you can edit or cancel the scheduled release date and/or time. To do so, click into the story whose publishing schedule you wish to edit. Tap the three dots next to the scheduled part, followed by “Change schedule”. You’ll see the option to edit the schedule or “Unschedule” the part.

Can I discard a scheduled part?

Yes. Before the scheduled part goes live, you can go into the scheduled part to Unschedule the part and move it to your drafts, or delete it. 

 

How soon can I schedule a part to be published?

If you’d like your story part to be available to your readers immediately, you can select the “Publish Now” option. If you’d like to schedule your part instead, the earliest possible scheduled time is fifteen (15) minutes from the time you’re setting up the schedule.

Can I edit a scheduled part?

Yes. you are able to make edits to your parts up until they are published and after they have been published.

 

What timezone will my story be scheduled in?  

The schedule you select will be based on the timezone identified by your device settings.

Will I get a notification when my scheduled part goes live?

When you schedule a part you will receive two notifications. The first one will be a confirmation that your part was scheduled, and will be sent approximately 24 hours before your part is scheduled to go live. The second notification will be sent out when your scheduled part goes live at the time and date you’ve selected.

Please note, if you’ve scheduled a part to go live in less than one (1) hour (i.e. at 2PM you schedule a part to go live at 2:30PM) you will not receive the first notification confirming scheduling. You will instead only receive a notification when your part is live.

On your My Stories page, you can see all of your parts whether they are scheduled, live, or in draft mode. 

 

When will it be available on mobile devices?

We’re working to have this feature available on mobile and will share more details soon.

Is this available in all languages?

This feature is available globally in all languages . 

 

Where can I share feedback about this feature?

For any concerns or questions around using the Publishing Scheduler feature, please submit a Support request to us. You can submit a request by clicking ‘Fix a problem / Contact us’ to the right of or below this article.

Was this article helpful?
4 out of 5 found this helpful

Comments

Article is closed for comments.