Skip to Content

Closing your Wattpad account

On Wattpad, you have the option to close your account at any time. For instructions on how to close your account, click on the platform you are using:

On Web

  1. Log into your account
  2. Click on your username in the upper right-hand corner
  3. Select Settings
  4. Scroll to the bottom of the page
  5. Click on Close Account on the right-hand side
  6. Fill in the mandatory information
  7. Check the box saying 'Yes, I’m sure. Please close my account'
  8. Enter in your password
  9. Click on Close Account

On iOS

  1. Log into your account
  2. Tap on  Settings in the top right corner
  3. Select Account Settings
  4. Tap Close Account
  5. Fill in the mandatory information
  6. Check the box saying 'Yes, I’m sure. Please close my account'
  7. Enter in your password
  8. Click on Close Account

 

On Android

There is currently no way to close your account through the Android app. If you have access to a computer, you can close your account by logging into Wattpad on Web (see instructions above). If you do not have access to a computer, please submit a request and an agent will be in touch to help close your account. 

 

If you do end up closing your account, please be aware of the following:

  • You must be able to log into your account to close it
  • Closing your account is only available on the web on a regular computer, you cannot close your account on the app or a mobile browser
  • When you close your account, you are giving up your username. If someone creates an account with the same username, you will no longer be able to restore your original account
  • You may be able to restore your account by signing in again, which will automatically re-open the account, you can learn more in Reopening/reactivating account
  • Your closed account can show up in Google results for several weeks afterwards

If you can't remember your password, please our article on Resetting or changing your password. If you forgot your email address, please read our article: Forgot your email.

If someone has created a Wattpad account with your email address, please submit a Support request to us. You can submit a request by clicking ‘Fix a problem / Contact us’ to the right of or below this article.

Closing your Wattpad account will result in losing access to your:

  • Libraries, or reading lists
  • Private and public messages
  • Comments
  • Personal written works
  • Username

To check if an account is closed

If you’d like to double-check that your account has been closed:

  1. Type in https://www.wattpad.com/user/yourusername replacing 'yourusername' with the username of the account that you just closed.
  2. If you've closed your account, then you should get a 'User not found' page.

Do not sign into your account again; this will reopen your account through self-restoration: Reopening/reactivating account.

If you have further questions or concerns, please let us know.

Was this article helpful?
1300 out of 4525 found this helpful

Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.