Skip to Content

Muting or unmuting a user

The mute button is located on each user’s profile, story comments, and public messages you exchange with the user. The mute button disables two-way communication between you and that person.

How do I mute or unmute someone?

On iOS

Option 1: On profile

  1. Visit the profile page of the user you would like to mute.
  2. Press the three dots in the top right-hand corner of the screen: ‘...’ 
  3. A drop-down menu will appear. Tap Mute or Unmute

Option 2: In comments

  1. Long press the comment
  2. Tap Mute or Unmute

Option 3: In public messages

  1. Tap the More button next to one of the user’s public messages.
  2. Tap Mute or Unmute

On Android

Option 1: On profile

  1. Visit the profile page of the user you would like to mute.
  2. Press the three vertical dots in the top right-hand corner of the screen.
  3. A drop-down menu will appear. Tap Mute or Unmute

Option 2: In comments

  1. Long press the comment
  2. Tap Mute or Unmute

Option 3: In public messages

  1. Tap the More button next to one of the user’s public messages.
  2. Tap Mute or Unmute

On Web

Option 1: On profile

  1. Visit the profile page of the user you would like to mute.
  2. To the right of the 'Follow' button there are three dots. Pressing them will open a drop-down menu. 
  3. Click Mute or Unmute

Option 2: In comments

  1. Tap the More button next to one of the user’s story comments
  2. Tap Mute or Unmute

Option 3: In public messages

  1. Tap the More button next to one of the user’s public messages.
  2. Tap Mute or Unmute

What happens when I mute someone?  

If you mute someone:

  • They will not be able to post on or reply to posts on your conversation board
  • They will not be able to leave any comments on your stories. 
  • They will be unable to follow you, and if they were following you, they will be removed from your followers list.
  • They will not be able to view your profile.
  • They will not be able to read your comments on any stories, and you will not be able to read their comments on any stories. This includes any past or future comments on either of your posts.
  • While muted, you will also be unable to contact them through these channels.

We also have a Block feature if you would like to prevent another user from reading your stories and interacting with you. You can learn more about blocking in the article: Blocking a user 

If I mute someone, will they be notified? 

No, they will not be directly notified. If they try to view your profile or contact you through the channels listed above, a message will appear simply stating that they cannot interact with you. This is the same message you would see if you were attempting to view the profile of a user who closed their account. If the user you have muted contacts Wattpad, Wattpad will not confirm that you have them muted. 

I’ve muted someone, but they are still bothering me.

The mute button is designed to empower the community to resolve disputes and differences on their own. In some serious cases, muting someone may not be enough. 

If you have muted someone, but they are still finding ways to provoke or harass you, you can report them by submitting a ticket to www.wattpad.com/help. Please check out the Wattpad Safety Portal for more information on dealing with harassment and bullying. 

How do I know if I have been muted?

You may have been muted by someone if you are unable to view someone's profile or leave any comments on their stories. If you believe you have been muted by someone, we ask that you respect their decision. Unfortunately, we are unable to reverse the action or contact the user about the issue.

For more information on what type of behaviour is encouraged in the community, please read our Code of Conduct.

Was this article helpful?
291 out of 365 found this helpful

Comments

Article is closed for comments.