Account Privacy

Wondering what parts of your account are visible to others (public) and only viewable to you (private)?

Here are the different ways you can have privacy on your account:


Profile

Your profile can hold a lot of information about you. Here is a list of what could be displayed. Click on the characteristic to go to a guide to learn more about it.

Location: If you signed up with Facebook/Google+, this will be automatically filled in.

Linked Sites: Your Facebook, Twitter or personal website could be displayed.

Display Name: This is the large name displayed on your profile, directly under your profile picture. It will be your real name if you signed up with Facebook. Go to your Profile Settings to change this.

Username: This will be your full name if you signed up with Facebook/Google+.

Profile Picture: If you signed up with Facebook (prior to 2016) or Google+, this will be the same photo as on your profile on FB or G+.

Activity Feed

Your activity feed is, by default, public. It is displayed when you select 'Conversations' (on web) or 'Activity' (on the apps) on your profile. 

The feed shows off these activities:

  • Stories you have commented on
  • Stories you have voted on
  • Users you have followed
  • New stories you have published
  • New story parts you have published

You can delete activities off of this feed by selecting the [...] in the upper right-hand corner and then selecting 'Delete'.

Library/Archive

Your library and archive are private. However, stories in your library can appear on your Home page in the form of recommendations.

You cannot dismiss or delete stories from your recommendations.

Reading Lists

Your reading lists are all public. There is no way to make them private.

They can appear as recommendations and are displayed on your profile.

Stories

Your stories are, by default, public. You can turn whole stories or parts to private.

If your story is marked mature, then they will not appear on your profile for users who are under-17.

Search

Your search results are private to your account. You can delete a result, but there is no function to clear your entire search history at once.

On Android: press the 'x' next to a search result to delete it.

On iOS: swipe the search result to the left, then tap 'Delete'.

You cannot clear 'recommended searches'. 

Was this article helpful?
49 out of 91 found this helpful

Comments

Article is closed for comments.