Deleting a story or story part

If you’ve created a new story part by accident or if you’re sure that you no longer want a story part anymore, you have the option to delete it. You can delete both drafts and published parts, as well as an entire story.

Be absolutely sure that you want to delete a story part, as there is no way to restore it once it’s been deleted. If you delete a story part, this will also delete all of the reads and votes of this part from your total amount of reads/votes. 

Instead of deleting a part, you also have the option of unpublishing it, and the story part will be reverted back to a draft, so only you can see it.

Click on a platform below for more details on how to delete a story part.

On iOS

To delete a story part:

  1. Tap on The pencil icon in the bottom navigation bar
  2. Navigate to the story 
  3. Tap on The settings icon next to the Table of Contents
  4. Select all of the parts you’d like to delete
  5. Tap Delete on the bottom menu bar
  6. Select Delete Part(s) or Delete Story 

 

To delete an entire story:

Option 1: From the ‘Works’ page (list of your stories)

  1. Tap on The pencil icon in the bottom navigation bar
  2. Navigate to the story 
  3. Tap on The three dots icon in the upper right-hand corner
  4. Select Delete Story
  5. Type in your username
  6. Tap Delete Story

IMG_0551.jpg

On Android

To delete a story part:

  1. Tap on The pencil icon in the bottom navigation bar
  2. Navigate to the story 
  3. Scroll down to the Table of Contents
  4. Tap on The three dots icon next to the story part
  5. Select Delete Part
  6. Select Yes

 

To delete an entire story:

Option 1: From the Create page 

  1. Tap on The pencil icon in the bottom navigation bar
  2. Navigate to the story and tap on The three dots icon next to the story title
  3. Select Delete
  4. Type in your username
  5. Select Delete Story

On Web

To delete a story part:

Option 1: From the Story Details page

  1. Click on Write on the top navigation bar 
  2. Navigate to the Table of Contents
  3. Click on The three dots icon next to the story part
  4. Select Delete Part
  5. Select Delete Forever

 

Option 2: In a story part

  1. Open a story part
  2. Click on The three dots icon in the upper right-hand corner
  3. Select Delete this part

 

To delete an entire story:

  1. Click on Write on the top navigation bar
  2. Click on The three dots icon next to the story title
  3. Select Delete Story
  4. Select Delete
  5. Select Yes

delete_story_web.png


Troubleshooting

If you’re having trouble deleting your story part or parts, please read our articles on troubleshooting on web and troubleshooting on the apps

Was this article helpful?
16 out of 35 found this helpful

Comments

Article is closed for comments.