Wattpad is not just a collection of stories; it’s a community that thrives because of engaged readers and writers. If you’re looking for community, there are many ways to interact with other Wattpadders. But before you do, take some time to review our Code of Conduct. By following our Code of Conduct, you help Wattpad achieve its goal of creating a safe and comfortable space for everyone to discover and create.
If you’d like to share your thoughts about a particular story part with the writer or other readers, you can leave a comment. Each comment can be a maximum of 2000 characters long and there are no limits to the number of comments you can leave. You can delete any comment you posted, or any comment posted on a story you wrote. Learn how to Post or delete a story comment.
There are two types of comments. Regular comments are displayed at the end of a story part. Inline comments are posted in the text of the story–you’ll see them to the right of the story text. Before you can see and post inline comments, you need to turn on the inline comments feature for your account. Learn more in our article Viewing inline comments.
Voting is a great way to show an author your support. You can vote on any story part you read, but you can only vote 100 times per day. Learn more about Voting on a story.
Another way to engage with a story is by using reactions. Reactions function like inline comments: to share a reaction, select a part that stands out to you and select a sticker that reflects how you feel about that particular story section. Other readers will see the reactions as they are reading.
You can go back to your favorite part and read through your saved reaction highlights in the reactions tab in your library. Reactions are currently available on the iOS app. Read more in our Reactions FAQ.
You have the ability to send a private message to another Wattpadder, and this message will only be visible to you and them. Your private messages are stored in your inbox. You can delete a private conversation at any time, but please note: it will only be deleted on your end. The other Wattpadder will still be able to read past messages. Learn more about Sending Private Messages.
Please note: To help with performance on Wattpad, there are only a certain number of conversations that store in your inbox, as well as a certain number of messages between users. Once you hit this threshold, the older messages will be automatically deleted. If either you or the system has deleted messages, we do not store logs of these messages and so we unfortunately cannot retrieve them.
Your conversation board is visible to anyone who visits your profile. It’s a place where you can share your thoughts or engage in public conversations. You can post messages on your own board, post on other Wattpadders’ boards, or reply to messages on boards. Just as with comments, messages are limited to 2000 characters
Your conversation board is also a great place to share news with your followers. When posting a message on your board, you will have the option to Announce this to my followers. If you check this box, every Wattpadders who follows you will get a notification about your new announcement. Please note that you can only post up to 3 announcements per day. Learn how to Make an Announcement.
Following other Wattpadders is a great way to keep up to date with their activities on Wattpad. If you follow a Wattpadder, you will receive notifications when they post an announcement or publish a brand new story. You can follow up 1000 users and you can unfollow a user at any time.
Following also enables other Wattpadders to interact with you. To protect our community from spam, we have limits on how many unsolicited public and private messages Wattpadders can send. But once you follow a Wattpadder, they can message you without hitting their limit.
Grab another Wattpadder's attention or draw them into a conversation by adding them to a comment or message, or by mentioning them in a story. To mention a user, type @ followed by their username (no space in between).
When a Wattpadder is mentioned in a comment or in a story part, their name will appear as a link, which leads to their Wattpad profile. They will receive a notification that you have mentioned them. They will also receive notifications for each reply to the comment they are mentioned in.
Though we encourage interaction and engagement on Wattpad, you may come across Wattpadders who you are not interested in interacting with. Wattpad has a mute button located on each user’s profile and can be used to disable two-way communication between you and that person. Muting a user who follows you will remove them from your followers list. Check out our Mute FAQ for more information.
You may have been muted by someone if you are unable to view someone's profile, send them an inbox message, write on their profile’s message board, or leave any comments on their stories. If you believe you have been muted by someone, we ask that you respect their decision. And remember: all Wattpadders are expected to follow our Code of Conduct.