Skip to Content

Blocking a user

The block button is located on each user’s profile. It can be used to disable two-way communication between you and that person and stop that person from viewing your profile or reading your stories. If you receive unwanted messages, comments, or follows from another Wattpadder, you can block them. 

How do I block or unblock someone?

On iOS

  1. Visit the profile page of the user you would like to block.
  2. Press the three dots in the top right-hand corner of the screen: ‘...’ 
  3. A drop-down menu will appear. Tap Block or Unblock.

On Android

  1. Visit the profile page of the user you would like to block.
  2. Press the three vertical dots in the top right-hand corner of the screen.
  3. A drop-down menu will appear. Tap Block or Unblock.

On Web

  1. Visit the profile page of the user you would like to block.
  2. To the right of the 'Follow' button there are three dots: '...' . Pressing them will open a drop-down menu. 
  3. Click Block or Unblock.

What happens when I block someone?  

If you block someone:

  • They will not be able to send you a private message
  • They will not be able to post on or reply to posts on your conversation board
  • They will not be able to read your stories or leave any comments on your stories. 
  • They will be unable to follow you, and if they were following you, they will be removed from your followers' list.
  • They will not be able to view your profile.
  • They will not be able to read your comments on any stories, and you will not be able to read their comments on any stories. This includes any past or future comments on either of your posts.
  • While blocked, you will also be unable to contact them through these channels, view their full profile, or read their stories. 

We are currently working on expanding the block function and other tools to help users keep themselves safe. 

If I block someone, will they be notified? 

No, they will not be directly notified. If they try to view your profile or contact you through the channels listed above, a message will appear simply stating that they cannot interact with you. This is the same message you would see if you were attempting to view the profile of a user who closed their account. If the user you have blocked contacts Wattpad, Wattpad will not confirm that you have blocked them. 

I’ve blocked someone, but they are still bothering me.

Wattpadders are empowered to use the block function to manage their communications with other users. The block function can be used to prevent communication between two Wattpadders.

If you have blocked someone, but they are still finding ways to provoke or harass you, you can report them by submitting a request to www.wattpad.com/help. Please check out the Wattpad Safety Portal for more information on dealing with harassment and bullying. 

How do I know if I have been blocked?

You may have been blocked by someone if you are unable to view someone's profile, send them an inbox message, or read or comment on their stories. If you believe you have been blocked by someone, we ask that you respect their decision and do not try to contact them through another account or outside of Wattpad. We are unable to reverse the action or contact the user about the issue.

For more information on what type of behavior is encouraged in the community, please read our Code of Conduct.

How is block different from mute?

Mute prevents all interactions between you and a muted user. You can read more about how mute works in this article.

Block prevents all interactions between you and a blocked user, and it prevents a blocked user from reading your stories. 

Can I block someone and mute them? 

Yes! But if you block a user, that user will also not be able to interact with you, so think of block as the strongest user safety control. 

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

Article is closed for comments.